How Do I Get a Realtors License?
The first step in becoming a realtor is to obtain a pre-licensing course in real estate from an accredited real estate education provider. Depending on your state, you may have to complete a minimum of three real estate courses totaling 135 hours to qualify for a real estate license. Other states, like Georgia, require fewer hours but still require a license to practice real estate. Then you must complete a criminal background check.
The state of Arizona requires pre-licensing education of at least 90 hours. These courses are designed to prepare you for the state’s written examination and are given at a real estate school approved by the ADRE. If you already hold a real estate license from another state, you can apply for recognition in Arizona by reviewing the Out-of-State licensing information. Applicants must also obtain a Fingerprint Clearance Card, which is issued by the Arizona Department of Public Safety. You will need to submit an official transcript to request this waiver.
If you’re planning to take the exam in your state, check out the state real estate commission’s website. Exams are computerized and are divided into two parts: a national section on real estate principles and a state-specific section on the actual laws and regulations in your state. The test will usually consist of multiple choice questions, with time limits varying by state. Most pre-licensing courses provide a practice test that students can take to get familiar with the questions. You can also check out sample questions published on the state’s website.
As a real estate agent, you may have to pay a desk and tech fees, as well as marketing materials and business cards. Additionally, you may have ongoing expenses, such as continuing education and lockbox and Multiple Listing Service memberships. You should also expect a few setbacks along the way. However, you will likely make a lot of money if you are committed and consistent. The money and time will definitely be worth it in the end!
You should aim for a minimum of three years before obtaining your license. Getting your license will take four to six months, depending on your state and prelicensing education requirements. Once you’ve passed these, you’ll need to find a real estate brokerage to work under. Most brokerages sponsor the first two to three years of your training. However, if you are applying for the New York real estate license, the state licensing requirements may differ from the others.
Depending on where you’re from, you may have to complete the coursework and exams in your home state before you start the licensing process in your new state. Fortunately, there are several states that offer reciprocity agreements between licenses. If you’ve already obtained your license in another state, it is also possible to transfer your license to New York. In this case, you should note that you must take additional exams, but the license will remain valid in all 50 states.